October 11, 2019 / Modified oct 11, 2019 9:49 a.m.

City Council candidates explain their vision for Tucson

Candidates from the three parties discuss what direction they would like to take Tucson.

City Hall Tucson City Hall
Nick O'Gara/AZPM

The Buzz

Tucson ward candidates


Ballots for the Tucson city election are in the mail. Voters will have a chance to cast ballots for a new mayor and three members of the City Council.

This week The Buzz invited the candidates for Ward 1, 2 and 3 to talk about their visions for taking the city into the future. We hear from candidates from the Democrats, Republicans, and Greens.

The participants for the Democrats are Lane Santa Cruz, Paul Cunningham and Nikki Lee. The Republican candidates on the show are Michael Hicks, Ewart Williams and Sam Nagy. The Green candidates on the episode are Cara Bissell and William Peterson. Candidate Michael Smith did not accept our invitation.

The candidates discussed a number of topics, including how to fix Tucson's roads, the effectiveness of tax incentives for future business development, and how they will differ from current council members.

AZPM News sent out a survey to all of the candidates in this fall's election. Read the responses in our 2019 candidate guide.

The Buzz
The Buzz airs Fridays at 8:30 a.m. and 6 p.m. and Saturdays at 3:30 p.m. on NPR 89.1. You can subscribe to our podcast on iTunes and NPR One. See more from The Buzz.
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona