Ten Arizonans were sworn in as members of the 113th Congress in Washington Thursday, including newly elected U.S. Sen. Jeff Flake.

The Republican Flake was sworn in by Vice President Joe Biden on the Senate floor Thursday morning along with 32 other new and reelected senators. Arizona Sen. John McCain and outgoing Sen. Jon Kyl escorted Flake to the swearing-in.

Flake, who was in the U.S. House for six terms until now, replaces Kyl, a Republican who is retiring after three six-year terms in the Senate.

Flake won the Senate race over Democrat Richard Carmona in November by a relatively narrow margin.

The Arizona native's swearing in as a senator came three days after his 50th birthday.

Taking their seats in the House of Representatives Thursday from Arizona were Democrats Ron Barber and Raúl Grijalva, both of Tucson; Democrats Kyrsten Sinema of Tempe, Ed Pastor of Phoenix and Ann Kirkpatrick of Flagstaff; Republicans Matt Salmon of Mesa, Paul Gosar of Prescott; David Schweikert of Scottsdale; and Trent Franks of Peoria.