/ Modified nov 7, 2017 6:29 p.m.

Nominated DHS Chief Left With Decisions On Temporary Protected Immigrants

Homeland Security nominee faces her first confirmation hearing on Wednesday.

President Donald Trump’s pick to lead the Homeland Security Department faces her first confirmation hearing on Wednesday. Among the questions expected for Kirstjen Nielsen: what will she do with the limbo status of 57,000 Hondurans left with an uncertain future?

Late Monday, the outgoing temporary DHS secretary Elaine Duke issued her edict: the temporary protected status for Nicaraguans will end in January 2019.

But for Hondurans, their date is unknown. The department will have until next July to make a decision on whether they need to also leave the country.

Tom Jawetz is vice president of immigration policy at the Center for American Progress.

"At that hearing hopefully we’ll have an opportunity to get her reaction to the Department of Homeland Security's inability to make a decision on Honduras," Jawetz said.

Hondurans and Nicaraguans who fled after the devastating Hurricane Mitch in 1998 have had their status renewed every year since.

Fronteras Desk
This story is from the Fronteras Desk, a collaboration of Southwestern public radio stations, including NPR 89.1. Read more from the Fronteras Desk.
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona