/ Modified jul 17, 2018 10:58 a.m.

CNN Anchor Anderson Cooper to Receive Walter Cronkite Award

The honor is awarded by Arizona State University, whose journalism school is named after the famous late CBS News anchor.

anderson cooper Anderson Cooper at the Peabody Awards luncheon in 2012.
Anders Krusberg, Peabody Awards

PHOENIX — Arizona State University is awarding its 2018 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism to CNN anchor Anderson Cooper.

He will receive the award on Oct. 17 in Phoenix from the university's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Cooper says he's honored and humbled to receive the award because Cronkite "sparked my interest in journalism at a young age."

Cooper has been with CNN since 2001. He also has been a regular contributor to "60 Minutes" on CBS since 2006.

The 34 previous Cronkite Award winners include Bob Woodward, Tom Brokaw, Al Michaels, Scott Pelley, Diane Sawyer, Judy Woodruff and Helen Thomas.

ASU's School of Journalism and Mass Communication was named in Cronkite's honor in 1984.

The famed CBS News anchor died in 2009.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona